SJSEP Master Thesis Award 2022


SJSEP Master Thesis Award 2021

Each year master students across Scandinavia conduct important investigations that are relevant to the Scandinavian sport and exercise psychology community. Master Student Award was introduced by Scandinavian Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology to disseminate such work, and to introduce young researchers for the peer-review process. The award is annualy given to the best article in SJSEP based on a master thesis.

The members of the committee have reviewed the eligible manuscripts, and Scandinavian Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology and Danish Sports Psychology Forum (DIFO) are pleased to announce that the winner of the Master Thesis Award for 2022 is Håvard Carlsen for the paper:

Fysisk aktivitet og ensomhet blant unge studenter under koronapandemien

The study aimed to investigate if there is a correlation between physical activity and loneliness among young students, as well as controlling for other factors that have been shown to be related to loneliness in the group. A regression analysis conducted on a sample of 1733 students showed that students who exercise are less lonely compared to students who do not exercise. Student loneliness is a problem on the rise which means that investigating the importance of exercising is an important topic of research and one which has significant relevance to the Scandinavian sport and exercise psychology community. The study demonstrates good quality in its use of basic quantitative methods, the research is well-designed and executed. The study has a large sample size, which increase the validity and generalizability of the findings. Finally, considering the body of literature published in SJSEP, both the method and the topic are areas which the journal wants to promote.

Congratulations to Håvard Carlsen on a well-written and relevant article based on his master thesis and to co-author and supervisor, Ingar Mehus.

Award committee:
Peter Elsborg, PhD, Editor, SJSEP
Louise Kamuk Storm, PhD, associate editor SJSEP
Astrid Becker-Larsen, chairman DIFO
Kristina Pfeffer, board member of DIFO